top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureKay

SURVIVING YOUR FIRST INTERNATIONAL FLIGHT

Updated: Jan 2, 2019


After booking my first international flight (ever in life) to Thailand from JFK, I was essentially scared shitless! Hauling my Northface backpack, I stood in the boarding lane as I stared in shock at the "double-decker" plane that we were slatted to board. I was a ball o' nerves but I was excited to visit Thailand. I had never seen a plane complete with two stories, countless bathrooms, and rows and rows and rows of passengers. Ever since I was a kid, my family would fly from New York to South Carolina every summer to visit family but this situation was vastly different. I found my seat (window) and sat there as I removed some of the items from my book bag for a 10+ hour flight from JFK to Korea then another flight from Korea to Thailand. After surviving this flight, and five others since, I have compiled a list of the top essentials for surviving your first international flight!



1. Comfortable Clothing

While in the sky for countless hours, comfortable clothing is essential to be able to relax, as best as you can in your seat. I opt for wearing leggings, a baggy t-shirt, a hooded sweatshirt, cotton socks, and sneakers. I am always freezing on international flights and find it much easier to remove clothing than to attempt to dig through my backpack to add layers during a flight. This can also be very annoying for the people sitting in your aisle lol. I also carry a scarf that can double as a shawl, blanket, and even a beach sarong upon arrival. Wear what makes you as comfortable as possible and will allow you to sleep in a sitting position for countless hours on end.






2. Memory Foam Travel Neck Pillow


You ever fall asleep on a flight and wake up with a horrid pain in your neck? A travel neck pillow is the answer to that problem! I found that you can wear it the standard way (around your neck with the cushion on your neck) to sleep as well as with the cushion facing the opposite way. This method will allow you to lean you head forward to sleep, which can be an alternative to simply leaning back onto the cushion. Although most international flights provide you with a small pillow, which is often child size and not plush at all, I prefer my memory foam next pillow for my neck and will place the small pillow on the small of my back for extra support during the flight.



3. Eye Mask


Too excited or anxious to sleep on your flight? Although it may be broad daylight during your flight, it is always a good habit to try to squeeze in as much sleep as possible on your flight to avoid jet lag. Many international airlines increase and decrease the lighting (from very bright to dim to very dim) throughout the course of the flight, which can some times make it virtually almost impossible to fall asleep for an extended period of time. I cannot board an international flight without my eye mask. It blocks out all light and allow my eyes to rest even if I cannot completely fall asleep.


4. Compression Socks

Traveling up in the sky for countless hours can cause your feet and ankles to swell significantly, especially if you are not getting up every few hours to walk around during the flight. During my first flight, I sat by the window and was extremely reluctant to ask my fellow passengers every hour to unbuckle their seat belts, let me out of my seat, wait for my return, flood the aisle in order to allow me to squeeze back into my seat, then re-buckle their seat belts. I was also very reluctant to be one of those passengers who walks up and down the aisles for what seems like every few minutes while disturbing the flight attendants attempting to service passengers. I still highly recommend getting up and moving about every two hours to increase leg circulation. If you are an introvert like me who sometimes suffers from social anxiety, compression socks can help to improve your circulation without leaving your seat as often.


4. Hand sanitizing wipes

International flights tend to serve meals every few hours and this, for many, means the act of washing your hands before dining. Some international flights will pass out hot towels for passengers to wipe your hands prior to meals being served. I will use the hot towels but I always travel with a package of hand sanitizing wipes. Personally, I am not a fan of hand sanitizing gel, which just simply "neutralizes" the dirt on your hands rather than wiping it off. Bathrooms are plentiful but you are often waiting in line for the bathroom simply to wash your hands. Using hand sanitizing wipes, in lieu of hand washing, at least for the time being, is the best alternative for me. I also use wipes to wipe down the tray table, arm rests, and any other hand surfaces I may touch throughout the flight while in my seat.


5. Lip balm

Cruising for countless hours in the air will cause your skin, especially your lips, to become extremely dry. I think the high altitude and the recycled air on the airplane are the culprits for this phenomenon. I cannot board an international flight without purchasing lip balm. I prefer Burt Bee's. Although they can be a bit pricey, the product line is best for chapped lips and it last for hours with reapplication. I always apply lip balm before, every few hours during the flight, and after landing.


6. Backpack as Carryon



As a budget backpacker, it is essential for me to choose luggage for international flights that is durable and serve multiple purposes. I always travel with my 65L grey Osprey backpack, which I check-in for the flight, but I prefer to carry a small backpack with multiple pockets for easy access to my most needed items as my carryon bag for international flights. Most small backpacks can fit underneath the seat in front of you, which makes it easier to access your things during the flight, rather than getting up and opening the overhead compartment every time you need something. If you looked in my backpack on an international flight, you would find (in additional to all of the items listed above) a book, earbuds, a Contigo water bottle, an extra set of clothing, money stored in several secret compartments, a usb phone charger, an international plug/adapter, lip balm, lotion, toiletries (toothbrush and toothpaste), and my travel journal!




43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page